Glendale Rental Car Accident Attorneys
L.A. County’s roads are packed year-round with local residents getting to and from work, as well as millions of travelers from across the country and the world. While most visitors use rideshare services to get around our neighborhoods, rental cars are still very common. In addition, if your car is in the shop, you may have to use a rental car for some time to get around. When it comes to insurance for these types of vehicles, it can get rather complicated, especially if you are involved in an accident.
If you or someone you love was injured in a rental car accident caused by another driver, then you should contact an attorney at Aghabegian & Associates, PC, immediately. Car accident claims are rarely simple, but rental car insurance can complicate matters even further. Our Glendale rental car accident attorneys can use more than 40 years of combined experience to explain all of your options in a free consultation. Do not wait. Call us at (818) 507-4311 to discuss your case and learn how you can receive compensation after a crash.
Car accident claims naturally fall under personal injury laws in California, which means you must prove certain facts to receive compensation, including:
- The person who injured you owed you a duty of care;
- That person broke that duty of care through an act of negligence;
- By breaking that duty of care, that person caused your injuries; and
- Your injuries resulted in damages, including monetary and personal costs.
No matter what type of vehicle you were in, liability often falls on the driver who caused the collision. If another driver hit you because he was negligent, then you can recover compensation for your injuries and trauma from his auto insurance company. Acts of negligence that often cause rental car accidents include:
- Drunk driving
- Distracted driving
- Fatigued driving
- Aggressive driving
- Dangerous turns
- Ignoring traffic signs and local laws
- Poor vehicle maintenance
- Driver inexperience
One of the most confusing issues drivers face when renting a car is how their insurance policy will work. Under California state law, all drivers are required to have basic auto liability insurance, which must include:
- $15,000 in personal injury insurance for a single accident victim
- $30,000 in personal injury insurance for two or more accident victims
- $15,000 in property damage insurance
Most auto insurance companies extend personal auto insurance to rental vehicles. This means that a driver’s normal insurance policy may cover a rental car in an accident. However, drivers still have the option to add additional insurance through the rental company.
For rental car accident victims, there are two scenarios where you can file a claim:
- If you were driving a rental car and were hit by another vehicle, then you can file a claim against the other driver’s personal insurance company. You may also be able to file an uninsured/uninsured motorist coverage claim (UM/UIM) with your own insurance company.
- If you were driving your personal vehicle and were hit by a rental car, then you can file a claim against the other driver’s personal insurance policy or the rental insurance policy. Your own UM/UIM coverage may also apply.
In both scenarios, you should contact an experienced personal injury attorney first. If you contact an insurance company on your own, you may find it difficult to get full coverage for your crash.
Insurance companies and their adjusters are only interested in their profits, which means they may devalue or dismiss your claim to save money. They may act friendly and responsive to your calls or emails, but when it comes time to pay you, you may be offered a low settlement that hardly covers your medical bills. With rental cars, you may get passed back and forth between insurance companies as they both try to deny coverage.
However, when confronted by a skilled attorney, insurance companies are more willing to discuss fair compensation. They do not want to be dragged into a costly civil lawsuit and will want to settle as quickly as possible. While we never advise clients to accept a quick settlement, our experienced Glendale lawyers can pressure the other driver’s insurance company to provide proper compensation for your trauma, which can include:
- Past and future medical bills
- Lost wages
- Lost earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Loss of enjoyment
In California, accident victims have two years from the date of their crash to file a personal injury claim. While you may think this is a long time, you may need months to fully heal from your injuries and figure out how much the accident cost you. You will also need time to collect evidence of negligence, review the other driver’s insurance policy, and negotiate with their insurance company. All of this can be difficult to handle while recovering from your injuries.
Rather than dealing with a claim on your own, contact a Glendale car accident attorney at Aghabegian & Associates, PC. We can sit down with you immediately in a free consultation to review the details of your case and discuss your options. If we take you on as a client, we will handle all of the legal burdens so that you can focus on healing. We are dedicated to getting our clients full compensation after an accident. Call our office today at (818) 507-4311.
Fill out the form below to request your free consultation to discuss your options.
No Upfront Fees
Contact us today for a free consultation. We offer our services on a contingency fee basis-if we don’t recover compensation for you, you don’t pay.
Call (818) 507-4311 to learn more.